Posted by: regina | March 8, 2010

Dreams and Premonitions

I have never claimed to be clairvoyant but there have been three times in my life when I have had dreams that seem to have come true. They seem to have come at times when I have been very happy and unencumbered with worries.

Brussels, Belgium – May 2003
My husband and I had just moved to Brussels from Paris and were renting a charming house in a quiet neighbourhood. On the night of May 19, I woke up briefly because the house was shaking. At least I thought I woke up and I thought the house was shaking. Then it stopped. The next morning I expected to find some dishes and books fallen on the floor – I was so certain we had had a minor tremor. I questioned my husband the next morning but neither he nor our surrounding neighbours had felt anything. On May 21, we learned of the earthquake in northern Algeria that killed over 2,000 people and injured many more. Did I dream it?

Reston, Virginia – September 2001
I was working for a few months in Reston on a consulting contract taking a brief hiatus from living in Paris. On the night of September 10, I went to bed as usual. I awoke in the middle of the night sitting upright in bed. I had been dreaming of human body parts falling out of the air and people reaching out to me from the ground covered in dust and blood. I shook it off as a very bad nightmare; I rarely have gory dreams. The next day the twin towers fell in New York and a plane crashed into the Pentagon, a mere 15 minute drive from where I was living and working. Was my dream a premonition?

Atlanta, Georgia USA – around 1995/1996
I cannot pinpoint the exact date as the dream remained forgotten for a long time until forced to memory by real events. I dreamt my sister Vikki was dead. In my dream, I walked around her body as it lay on some type of table or bed. I heard these words echoed in my dream, “So young to die…. the kind of lifestyle she led.”

I was so shaken and disturbed by this dream that I called my mother in the Bahamas shortly thereafter, supposedly to catch up on news. I wanted to make sure that my dream, as vivid as it had been, was only that, a dream. At that time it was.

In March 2006, when Vikki was diagnosed with ovarian cancer, I called a close friend of mine to tell her the news. Her words to me made my dream rush back to me violently. Why? She repeated the exact words I had heard in my dream.

So you see, deep within me, I always knew what would be the outcome of Vikki’s illness. So did Vikki, as I found out much later.

________________________________________________________
Do you ever have premonitions during dreams or otherwise?
Do you believe in them?


Responses

  1. Although I have never had a premonition (other than the occasional thinking about something/someone and then it/they appear), but I do believe in them. And your’s are rather amazing!

    It kind of makes one wonder–is everything planned out before it happens? I’ve read that some mediums believe that before we are born we plan our lives out. That we choose what happens to us, what events we will go through in order for our soul to evolve. When things get rough, I try to remember this. I try to look at the situation and find the lessons in it.

  2. I have never had significant premonitions before or at least I don’t remember to have had any. It did happen to me few times to live a scene that I’ve seen already. It’s a bit wierd, I admit it! It’s like in your case, hearing a sentence you dreamt many years ago and suddenly remembering to have dreamt it while hearing it.
    Unfortunately premonitions will be identified as such only when you live it. When one dreams a situation, many times it could seem meaningless as one can’t relate the situation to anything logical. That is why it is hard to interpret dreams.

    I hope you have also positive and happy premonitions!!!


Leave a comment

Categories